New Zealand Digital Boundaries

Region: Aotearoa - New Zealand

Description: Digital boundaries covering New Zealand, including the Chatham Islands, are now available to download. Compressed in zip format, the files contain the following geographic layers: meshblock (MB), area unit (AU), urban area (UA), territorial authorities (TA), regional council (RC), wards, and community boards (CB). The General (GED07) and Māori (MED07) electoral districts (used for the 2011 election) are now available to download separately. The annual pattern starts from 2007 and covers only New Zealand. Also available are Census-based* digital boundaries for 2001 which cover only New Zealand. The 2006 Census boundaries cover New Zealand and are broken down into regions. From 2010, digital boundaries will only be available in NZTM (NZGD2000), which is now the official national geodetic datum for New Zealand. Previous years are still available in NZMG. Go to the LINZ website for more information on the Transverse Mercator 2000 projection.


Team Projects Utilising New Zealand Digital Boundaries

No team projects utilising this data set currently.