Designated Bushfire Prone Area

Region: Victoria

Description: Polygon features identify designated Bushfire Prone Areas where specific bushfire building construction requirements apply. The municipal areas of Melbourne, Yarra, Maribyrnong, Moonee Valley, Darebin, Boroondara, Stonnington, Glen Eira, Moreland, Port Phillip and Bayside do not have any designated bushfire prone areas. The original boundaries were gazetted on 7 Sep 2011. Changes to the boundaries have been gazetted on 25 Oct 2012, 8 Oct 2013, 30 Dec 2013, 3 June 2014, 22 Oct 2014, 19 August 2015, 21 April 2016, 18 October 2016, 02 June 2017, 06 November 2017, 16 May 2018, 16 Oct 2018, 4 Apr 2019, 10 Sep 2019. Bushfire prone areas (BPA) of Victoria review 15, gazetted 24/03/2020. The BPA map depicts locations where new buildings, alterations and/or additions must meet the `bushfire prone area? requirements of the National Construction Code and a minimum Bushfire Attack Level (BAL) 12.5 construction standard (Section 192A Building Act 1993 - Bushfire Prone Areas determination, and construction requirements of the Building Regulations 2018). Refer to the following web links for information and Interactive Map.


Team Projects Utilising Designated Bushfire Prone Area

Hackers @ A'beckett - Calamitigator

Go to Team Project

FireTec - FireCloud

Go to Team Project